Last week Google sent out an email to everyone who uses Gmail to advise them that Google+ will be closing down. The reason for this decision is that no one is using Google+, which is the same reason that no one knows what it is, and the reason that we were collectively confused by this email.
So I had a look into it – apparently Google+ was Google’s attempt at a social network, like Facebook. Honestly I had never heard of it before, which is telling. The Economic Times lists the reasons for this as a huge data breach, lacklustre management, failure to differentiate from Facebook, and poor mobile accessibility.
In any case, I’ve been receiving questions from our clients about what this email is all about and whether their Gmail accounts are at risk – they are not. It’s only Google+ that is closing down. If you have been using Google+ you will lose all your associated data, including photos which are only saved on Google+. In that case you should save anything you want to keep elsewhere before April. Don’t worry, you would know if you were using it.
If you have not been using Google+ at all (like me, and apparently most people) then you’re in the clear. You can delete the email and you don’t have to do anything else. All of your emails, documents, and photos and videos backed up in Google Photos are safe.
In the unlikely event that anyone reading this is actually using this application, please feel free to contact me and I will help you figure out how to save anything you would like to: email@example.com